Skip to Page Contents Home News Site Map Help Legal Information Contact Us AccessKeys Top of Page

Workshops and Events

The museum is open from 1 April and closes for the winter on 1 November 2015 

Exhibitions 2015 

Find out about life as a miner - our new exhibition.

May 2015 

Blacksmith demonstration by our own Chris Askew

Sunday 3 May, free.

National Mills Day

Sunday 10 May, free.

River Ecology

Sunday 17 May, 1.30pm, £3.00 per child. Messing about in the river, making dams and finding river beasties.

Red Squirrel Awareness Day at Killhope

Sunday 24 May, £3.00 per child.

River Ecology

Tuesday 26 May, 1.30pm, £3.00 per child. Come and mess about in the river making dams and finding river beasties.

Woodland Sculpture

Thursday 28 May, 1.30pm, £4.00 per child.

Hazely Hush Guided Walk

Saturday 30 May, 1.30pm. A free guided walk into Killhopes’ woodland environment. The hush will be explored, ancient mining techniques discussed and a chance to see our rare Red Squirrels. This is not a gentle stroll so stout footwear is essential.

Kids Clay Play

Sunday 31 May £3.00 per child.

June 2015 

Kids go free at Killhope!!

All children 16 and under get in free throughout June!! Workshop charges still apply.

Kids Spar Box Workshop

Sunday 14 June, 1 30pm, £8.00 per child. Visit the minerals and Spar Boxes in our collection and be inspired to make your own creation to take home. All materials supplied. Keep this very special folk craft alive! Booking recommended.

Quoits Championship (Shield sponsored by Friends of Killhope) and Blacksmith Demonstration

Sunday 21 June, free admission to Quoits Championship entrant - £3.00 mine supplement applies for mine trip

Hazely Hush Walk

Saturday 27 June, 1.30pm. A free guided walk into Killhopes’ woodland environment. The hush will be explored, ancient mining techniques discussed and a chance to see our rare Red Squirrels. This is not a gentle stroll so stout footwear is essential.

Kids Clay Play Workshop

Sunday 28 June, 1.30pm, £3.00 per child.

July 2015 

‘Wheels and Belts’ a talk on the workings of Killhope Wheel and Jigger House

Sunday 12 July, 2pm.

River Ecology

Sunday 19 July, 1.30pm, £3.00 per child. Messing about in the river, making dams and finding river beasties.

Hazely Hush Walk

Saturday 25 July, 1.30pm. A free guided walk into Killhope woodland environment. The hush will be explored, ancient mining techniques discussed and a chance to see our rare Red Squirrels. This is not a gentle stroll so stout footwear is essential.

Animal Handling Session by Four Paws

Sunday 26 July, 3 x ¾ hour sessions between 1 and 4 pm, £5.00 per child. Booking essential

August 2015 

Woodland Sculpture

Sunday 2 August, 1 30pm, £4.00 per child.

National Play Day

Wednesday 5 August, Children FREE with full paying adult or valid 12 month ticket. Lots of fun, crafts, Family Tea Cups and Saucer Ride, Sand Play and lots more.

Kids Spar Box Workshop

Sunday 9 August, 1.30pm, £8.00 per child. Kids Visit the minerals and Spar Boxes in our collection and be inspired to make your own creation to take home. All materials supplied. Keep this very special folk craft alive! Booking recommended.

Blacksmith Demonstration by our own Chris Askew.

Sun 16 August, free.

Victorian Day Out.

Sun 23 August. Victorian games, Shuggie Boats, trip down the Victorian mine, dressing up in Victorian clothes and much more. Regrettably children under 4 years old are not allowed underground.

Hazely Hush

Sat 29 August, 1.30pm. A free guided walk into Killhopes’ woodland environment. The hush will be explored, ancient mining techniques discussed and a chance to see our rare Red Squirrels. This is not a gentle stroll so stout footwear is essential.

Woodland Sculpture

Sun 30 August, 1.30pm, £4.00 per child.

September 2015 

Heritage Open Days (HODS)

10 September until 13 September free admission to the museum and site. £3.00, mine supplement applies for mine tours.

Spar Boxes Talk

Thursday 10 September, 2.00, Free talk

Deadly or Delicious?

Sunday 13 September, 1.30, £1.00 per adult 50p per child in the company of expert Brian Athey followed by BBQ taster session of edible specimens found

‘Wheels and Belts’ a talk on the workings of Killhope Wheel and Jigger House

Sunday 20 September, 2.00, Free Talk

43rd Beamish Trophy Trial

Sunday 20 September Killhope check point times TBC

Hazely Hush

Saturday 26 September, 1.30 A free guided walk around Killhope woodland environment. The Hush will be explored, ancient mining techniques discussed and a chance to see our own native red squirrels. This is not a gentle stroll so stout footwear is essential

Red Squirrel Awareness Day at Killhope

Sunday 27 September

October 2015 

Animal Handling Session by Four Paws

Sunday 25 October, 3 x ¾ hour sessions between 1 and 4 pm, £5.00 per child. Booking essential

Kids Clay Play Workshop

Tuesday 27 October, 1.30, £3.00 per child.

Nature Craft

Wednesday 28 October,1.30, £4.00 per child,
Make insect hotels and hedgehog hibernation hotels to take home and help our wildlife over winter.

Kids Spar Box Workshop

Thursday 29 October,1.30,£8.00 per child. Visit the minerals and Spar Boxes in our collection and be inspired to make your own creation to take home. All materials supplied. Keep this very special folk craft alive! Booking recommended

Hazely Hush Walk

Saturday 31 October, 1.30 A free guided walk into Killhope’s woodland environment. The hush will be explored, ancient mining techniques discussed and a chance to see our rare Red Squirrels. This is not a gentle stroll so stout footwear is essential.

Halloween Crafts and Scary Tall Tales

Saturday 31 October, £4.00 per child with wonderful story teller Adam Bushnell.

November 2015 

‘Letters to Santa’

Saturday 14  and Sunday 15 November, £5.00 per person special admission price only write your letters to Santa and them  delivered by highly trained and responsible owls.

For bookings and further details please contact us on 01388 537505 or check out our website www.killhope.org.uk
All charges for listed activities are in addition to normal admission prices (tickets are valid for 12 months).

Events in the Yurt 

We also have events and workshops in our yurt.